The Day I became Addicted to Coffee!

Another hospital visit!  Great!  Eddie was only 3 months old- it was New Year’s Eve and I was up for 36 hours straight!

Timmy was admitted into the hospital with a kidney infection and kidney stones.

Great another hospital visit.  The hospital will not let a 3 month old up to visit.  I can’t be in 2 places at once.  So have to abandon my baby to spend time with my hubby.  Can’t leave him alone in the hospital.  I feel guilty leaving one of them.

So my poor hubby has to celebrate New Year’s in the hospital that year- at least the nurse brought him a “shot” of apple juice!

I do not sleep- worried about not being there, but still awake because Eddie is awake!  So 36 hours- I found COFFEE!  I needed to stay awake and get to the hospital again!  Coffee became my friend since sleeping was not an option!

Jealous of people celebrating the New Year….. me….. just wanted normal…. but PKD reminds us yet again…. there is no normal.

6 thoughts on “The Day I became Addicted to Coffee!

  1. I saw your comment on Two Writing Teachers and the word ‘Coffee’ jumped out at me. I LOVE coffee so I just had to read you post. It was not what I expected! It was kind of like judging a book by it’s cover. 🙂 I’m so sorry to hear about your struggles but happy that my beloved coffee helped you through it! Cheers to no normal!

    Like

  2. I just googled PKD and found this, http://www.pkdcure.org/. I started doing some reading to learn more.

    Back to your slice… I can understand how you could easily become friends with coffee after the demands that were thrown upon you as a wife and mother that night. Caffeine can be our best friend and worst enemy, depending on the time of day, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing your story…Like Linsey said, I saw COFFEE and clicked, because that special elixir is one of my favorite things. Good luck with all of your stress and struggles – I hope that writing and reflection can help you find comfort!

    Like

  4. I love coffee and have since I was a little girl. I can’t imagine, though, being in a situation like this and needing it to keep me going. Your story blows me away every day. You seem to know exactly how much to tell!

    Like

Leave a Reply

